Kusu Island

Kusu Island

Bask in the blue lagoons, pristine beaches and tranquil settings of Kusu Island, located just 5.6km from Singapore.

From two tiny outcrops on a reef, the island has been enlarged and transformed into an 8.5-hectare holiday resort. Pay a visit to the wishing well and Tortoise Sanctuary, or make a pilgrimage to one of the island’s many revered spots.

Kusu Island means Tortoise Island in Chinese, so called because of a legend where a magical tortoise turned itself into the island to save two shipwrecked sailors. It is also known as Peak Island or Pulau Tembakul in Malay.

Each year during the ninth lunar month - sometime between September and November - thousands of devotees flock here for their annual Kusu Pilgrimage in the hope of good health, peace, happiness, good luck and prosperity. Popular Chinese temple, Da Bo Gong, was built by a wealthy businessman in 1923 and houses two main deities: Da Bo Gong and Guan Yin. The former is widely regarded as having the power to bestow prosperity, cure diseases, calm the sea and avert danger, while Guan Yin is known as the 'giver of sons'.

Kusu Pilgrimage 2014 will be from 24 Sep 2014 to 23 Oct 2014.

On top of a rugged hillock stand three holy shrines to Malay Saints, or Kramats, built to commemorate 19th century pious man, Syed Abdul Rahman, his mother Nenek Ghalib and sister Puteri Fatimah. Many devotees climb the 152 steps to pray for wealth, good marriage, good health and harmony. The shrines are also popular with childless couples because of their strong links to fertility.

Overnight stays are not permitted on Kusu Island.

龟屿

Kusu Island

龟屿距离新加坡 5.6 千米,其原始海滩和宁静氛围处在一片蓝礁湖之中。

龟屿从原先水中露出的两块小礁石扩大到现在的岛屿,成为一片 8.5 公顷的度假胜地。 参观许愿井和乌龟保护区,或漫步在岛屿上众多备受尊崇的景点之一。

龟屿的中文意思就是“乌龟岛”,据说一只神龟为舍身救助两名遇难水手,把自己变成了一个岛屿,于是龟屿由此得名。 它又名“峰岛”或在马来语中称为 "Pulau Tembakul"。

每年农历九月(九月和十月间),数千位信徒就聚集在此参加龟屿进香庆典,以希望健康、平安、快乐、好运和成功。 有名的中国式寺庙 - 大伯公寺于 1923 年由一位富有的商人建造并供奉两位神灵: 大伯公和观音。 人们认为大伯公可赐予人们幸福、治病救人、平息海浪和避免危险,观音则能“送子添丁”。

对于马来圣徒或 "Kramats" 来说,在崎岖的山丘顶上竖立了三座神龛,是用来纪念 19 世纪的虔诚教徒 Syed Abdul Rahman、他的妈妈 Nenek Ghalib 和妹妹 Puteri Fatimah。 许多信徒爬 152 级台阶为祈求财富、婚姻、健康和幸福。 许多无子夫妇都喜欢来到神龛祭拜,因为据说它们可以为人们送子添丁。

不允许在龟屿露营。

 

龟屿进香庆典 (Kusu Pilgrimage) – 2014年9月24日至10月23日。

返回地图